Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

15 May

New Faculty Announcement: Drew Fagan

May 15, 2018 | By |

SPPG is pleased to announce Drew Fagan as a new Professor of Public Policy who will join our Master of Public Policy Program for the coming school year. 

Drew Fagan

Drew Fagan spent 12 years in leadership positions with the governments of Ontario and Canada, leaving the public service two years ago. With the Government of Ontario, he was Deputy Minister of Infrastructure and Deputy Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport with responsibility for the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games.

Drew joined the Ontario Public Service in 2009 from Ottawa, where he was Assistant Deputy Minister for strategic policy and planning at the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. In that role, he served as the Prime Minister’s personal representative to the Asia-Pacific (APEC) summit process. Before becoming a public servant and diplomat in 2004, Mr. Fagan worked at The Globe and Mail, where he was parliamentary bureau chief, editorial page editor and columnist, foreign editor, associate editor of Report on Business and Washington correspondent.

Drew now has his own public policy consulting company. Recent clients have included departments, ministries, agencies and boards at all three levels of government. He also is a senior fellow at the Public Policy Forum, C.D. Howe Institute, University of Toronto and Ryerson University and is senior counsel to the firm at National Public Relations Inc. Drew is a board member of the Corporation of Massey Hall and Roy Thomson Hall and other organizations, including the Art Gallery of Ontario’s government affairs committee. He serves on the Ontario Government corporate audit committee. He was a member of the advisory board of the Munk School of Global Affairs from 2009 to 2017.

Drew holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Queen’s University and a Master of Arts degree from the University of Western Ontario. He received his ICD.D designation (Institute of Corporate Directors) in 2017 through the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto.